Skip to content

ATA Announces 2022 Law Enforcement Advisory Board: PMTA's Rigney included

ATA Announces 2022 Law Enforcement Advisory Board: PMTA's Rigney included

Arlington, Virginia — Today, the American Trucking Associations unveiled its 2022 Law Enforcement Advisory Board—a panel formed last year to advise the ATA Federation on ways to grow and strengthen relationships between the trucking industry and law enforcement organizations across the country.

The board is comprised of ATA members who have previous experience in federal, state, and local law enforcement, as well as current and retired law enforcement officials who’ve contributed positively to the partnership between both groups. The 2022 LEAB has 37 members in total who combine for over 900 years of law enforcement experience.

Fred Fakkema, vice president of safety and compliance for Zonar Systems, will serve as this year’s LEAB Chairman. Prior to joining Zonar, Fakkema served 25 years in the Washington State Patrol.

“By building bridges between the trucking community and law enforcement, we can combine our resources and align them in service of our common goal to increase safety across America’s highways,” said LEAB Chairman Fred Fakkema. “These individuals have deep and shared experience across industry and law enforcement, and ATA’s Law Enforcement Advisory Board has created a platform where their expertise can be applied in a constructive and purposeful way—with benefits for the entire motoring public.”

This year’s LEAB is subdivided into six working groups focused on specific issue sets:

  • Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety and Security,
  • Distracted Driving,
  • Truck Parking,
  • Training Accessibility,
  • Human Trafficking, and
  • Enforcement Standardization.

Dennis Bailey, a fleet safety manager for Walmart Supply Chain Transportation, and Mark Savage, director of connected truck solutions at Drivewyze, will serve as the LEAB’s vice chairs. Todd Armstrong, a master sergeant in the Illinois State Police, will serve as LEAB’s law enforcement outreach advisor. Derek Barrs, senior program manager at HTNB Corporation, will serve as industry outreach advisor. Barrs previously served 28 years in law enforcement, most recently as chief of commercial vehicle enforcement for the Florida Highway Patrol.

The other members of the 2022 LEAB are:

  • Chris Harris, ABF Freight System
  • Christopher Morris, U.S. Xpress                          
  • Jeff Ferber, J.B. Hunt
  • David Lorenzen, Iowa Department of Transportation
  • John McKown, TForce Freight
  • Myron Rau, South Dakota Trucking Association
  • Dana Moore, Texas Trucking Association
  • Austin Collins, ABF Freight System
  • James Farris, Louisiana State Police
  • Parker Harrison, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Mike Martin, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Jim Kochenderfer, Werner Enterprises
  • Butch Day, Yellow Corporation
  • Tim Cardwell, National High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) Assistance Center
  • Jeffrey Tippit, City of La Porte Police Department
  • Thomas Fuller, Elite Training & Consulting
  • John Rigney, Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association
  • Keith Eoff, J.B. Hunt
  • Marc Nichols, Drivewyze
  • Donnie Ware, ABF Freight System   
  • Mark Riordan, The Friedkin Group
  • Christopher Vinson, Midlothian Police Department
  • Rex Railsback, Hazmat Safety Professionals
  • Ray Miller, McAnally Wilkins Insurance
  • Jeff DeVere, DeVere Public Affairs and Consulting
  • Steve Dowling, Covenant Logistics
  • Rocco Marrari, EBE Technologies
  • Steve Keppler, Scopelitis Consulting
  • Jake Elovirta, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA)
  • Dennis Bailey, Walmart
  • Steve Wilhelms, Lee Trans
  • Allen Boyd, Walmart
  • Janice Mulanix, PrePass Safety Alliance

The LEAB members have current or previous affiliation with the following 27 law enforcement entities:

  • Iowa Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Enforcement Bureau
  • Louisiana State Police
  • HIDTA Assistance Center
  • City of La Porte, Texas Police Department
  • Florida Highway Patrol
  • Fort Smith, Arkansas Police Department          
  • California Highway Patrol
  • Gassaway, West Virginia Police Department
  • Midlothian, Texas Police Department               
  • Illinois State Police
  • Texas Department of Public Safety
  • South Dakota Highway Patrol
  • Howard County, Maryland Police
  • Midland, Texas Police Department
  • Kansas Highway Patrol
  • Dallas, Texas Police Department
  • Burlington, Vermont Police Department
  • City of Leclaire, Iowa Police Department
  • Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
  • Pennsylvania State Police
  • Rogers, Arkansas Police Department
  • Colorado State Patrol
  • Sarpy County Sheriff’s Office, Nebraska
  • North Carolina State Highway Patrol
  • New York State Police
  • Ocean City, Maryland Police Department
  • Alabama State Troopers
  • Pennsylvania Game Commission
  • Washington State Police

“Truckers are the eyes and ears of America’s highways,” said LEAB vice chair Dennis Bailey. “The trucking industry can offer a lot to the law enforcement community. Likewise, we can learn a lot from them, and this Board provides an excellent venue to establish that dialogue and an open exchange of ideas.”

Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top