Skip to content

ATA Unveils 2023 Law Enforcement Advisory Board

ATA Unveils 2023 Law Enforcement Advisory Board

Washington – Today, the American Trucking Associations unveiled its 2023 Law Enforcement Advisory Board—a panel formed in 2021 to advise the ATA Federation on strategies to grow and strengthen relationships between the trucking industry and law enforcement organizations across the country.

The board is comprised of ATA members who have previous experience in federal, state, and local law enforcement, as well as current and retired law enforcement officials who’ve contributed positively to the partnership between both groups. The 2023 LEAB has 38 members in total whose collective law enforcement experience totals over 900 years.

Fred Fakkema, vice president of safety and compliance for Zonar Systems, will once again serve as LEAB Chairman. Prior to joining Zonar, Fakkema served 25 years in the Washington State Patrol.

“This group continues to make a positive impact on highway safety by working to better align industry and law enforcement resources toward that common goal,” said Fakkema. “Last year, we helped advance the ball on truck parking through outreach to state departments of transportation across the country, alerting them to the federal funds available to build out capacity. That issue, in addition to others like human trafficking, aggressive and distracted driving, and marijuana legalization, will remain a top focus of ours in the year ahead.”

The members of the 2023 LEAB are:

  • Fred Fakkema (Chairman), Zonar Systems 
  • Ron Cordova, Zonar Systems
  • Jeff Ferber, J.B. Hunt
  • Derek Barrs, HNTB Corporation
  • Parker Harrison, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Mike Martin, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Jim Kochenderfer, Werner Enterprises
  • Tim Cardwell, National High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) Assistance Center
  • Jeffrey Tippit, City of La Porte Police Department
  • Dana Moore, Texas Trucking Association
  • John Rigney, Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association
  • Kent Grisham, Nebraska Trucking Association
  • Will Cole, Montana Trucking Association
  • Steve Massey, North Carolina Trucking Association
  • Keith Eoff, J.B. Hunt
  • Marc Nichols, Drivewyze
  • Mark Savage, Drivewyze
  • John Samis, Delaware State Police
  • Mark Riordan, U.S. Auto Logistics
  • Christopher Vinson, Midlothian Texas Police Department
  • Rex Railsback, Railsback Hazmat Safety Professionals
  • Ray Miller, McAnally Wilkins Insurance
  • Jeff DeVere, DeVere Public Affairs
  • Rocco Marrari, EBE Technologies
  • Steve Dowling, Covenant Logistics
  • Steve Keppler, Scopelitis Transportation Consulting
  • Todd Armstrong, Illinois State Police
  • Jake Elovirta, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA)
  • Dennis Bailey, Walmart
  • Floyd Dixon, FedEx
  • Joshua Shelton, FedEx
  • Doug Beebe, American Moving & Storage Inc.
  • Gary McCarthy, Aurora Innovation
  • Kevin Kelley, Missouri State Highway Patrol
  • Milana Walters, TM Total Consulting
  • Martin Cepeda, Trancasa USA
  • David Guess, Usher Transport
  • Janice Mulanix, PrePass Safety Alliance

The LEAB members have current or previous affiliation with the following 29 law enforcement entities:

  • City of La Porte, Texas Police Department
  • Colorado State Patrol
  • Texas State Highway Patrol
  • Florida State Highway Patrol
  • Pennsylvania State Police
  • Washington State Patrol
  • California State Highway Patrol
  • Rogers, Arkansas Police Department
  • Sarpy County Sheriff’s Office
  • Burlington, Vermont Police Department
  • Kansas State Highway Patrol
  • Midland, Texas Police Department
  • Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
  • North Carolina State Highway Patrol
  • City of Leclaire, Iowa Police Department
  • Illinois State Police
  • National High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) Assistance Center
  • Ocean City, Maryland Police Department
  • Alabama State Police
  • Louisiana Department of Public Safety
  • Louisiana State Police
  • Fayette County, Georgia Police Department
  • Austin, Indiana Police Department
  • New Mexico Department of Public Safety
  • Bunn, North Carolina Police Department
  • Missouri State Highway Patrol
  • Arizona Department of Transportation
  • Montana Motor Carrier Services
  • Delaware State Police

American Trucking Associations is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry. Through a federation of 50 affiliated state trucking associations and industry-related conferences and councils, ATA is the voice of the industry America depends on most to move our nation’s freight. Follow ATA on Twitter or FacebookTrucking Moves America Forward

# # #

Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top