Skip to content

ATA Safety Management Council Honors Industry’s Commitment to Safety

ATA Safety Management Council Honors Industry’s Commitment to Safety

Orlando, Florida – In April, the American Trucking Associations’ Safety Management Council honored a number of fleets and industry leaders for their commitment to safety on the highway and in the workplace.

“Trucking is a safety-first industry, and the professionals being recognized today have made it their mission to build strong safety practices into the culture of their companies,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. Through their dedication to safety, they provide a tremendous example to our industry, and I congratulate them on receiving these important honors.

The winners were recognized at ATA’s 2022 Safety, Security & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition.

They include:

  • The ATA President’s Trophy, sponsored by Great West Casualty Company

    • Under 25 Million Miles: Fortune Transportation, Windom, Minnesota;
    • 25-100 Million Miles: A. Duie Pyle Inc., West Chester, Pennsylvania;
    • Over 100 Million Miles: FedEx Freight, Harrison, Arkansas
  • ATA National Safety Director, sponsored by Great West Casualty Company: Jeff Mercadante, vice president of safety, Pitt Ohio;
  • ATA National Driver of the Year, sponsored by EROAD: Robert Rossi, FTC Transportation Inc.
  • ATA Excellence in Safety, sponsored by Great West Casualty Company: Colorado Motor Carriers Association.
  • PMTA was awarded the Cum Laude Excellence in Safety Award for its Safety Management Council's program and events throughout the year.

“SMC is pleased to honor this year’s winners – all of whom play an important role in building our industry’s safety culture,” said SMC Executive Director Jacob Pierce. “Motor Carriers, safety directors, drivers and our state association executives do critical work in promoting and improving safety across our industry and we thank them all for their commitment.”

Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top